Maison Empereur

Maison Empereur

You are here!
Maison Empereur

Located in the district of Noailles, Maison Empereur is the oldest hardware store in France having opened its doors in 1827. It has been a real institution for the people of Marseille for almost 190 years. The Maison Empereur may not be the oldest store in town but it is still the oldest general drugstore in France. Inside, in the 1,000 m2 of the establishment, tens of thousands of items are available to the curious. A veritable Ali Baba’s cave. One meets rough masons, housewives in search of the miracle product and one finds there essential objects, those which populate our childhood memories and which one believed lost forever, objects for the professionals, for the fans of original things, and for all budgets.

Laurence Renaux-Empereur is the first woman of the family to head the Maison Empereur. She is of the 7th generation in her family to do so since 1827.

In 2012 she created her own e-shop. She is developing it with the help of Google, she develops it without going from nothing to nothing. Today, there are 1,200 listings on the site of the hardware store against 50,000 in store.

Laurence could have made a museum about the oldest hardware store in France. She preferred a guest house full of souvenirs. Since 2017 the hardware store invites you to put down your suitcases for one night or more. Immerse yourself in the history and intimacy of the 7 generations of the Maison Empereur a stay in Slow Life mode, without Wifi, in the heart of a museum apartment.

But it’s not over yet, the Maison Empereur is adding a new jewel to its crown. A pretty tea room where you can take a reading break between the lampshades and soaps. It is located on the first floor of a new wing as for the guest room, this place which seems to belong to another time is hidden. To find it, you will have to play the same treasure hunt as when you shop among the countless shelves.

Enter the store by the kitchenware section. Climb the stairs between the coffee makers and the cake moulds and then a second, spiral one that will take you to the second floor. There you will taste the Luciani coffee (1863), the hot chocolate of Torréfaction Noailles (1927) and the herbal teas of Père Blaize (1815). To accompany all this, there will be local navette biscuits, a cake of the day and homemade scoops of ice cream.

Maison Empereur

The little extra: the place will host art exhibitions and conferences, the first of which logically welcomes the Compagnons du Tour de France.

If you are looking for an antique object or a night in a historical setting, do not hesitate to go here:

https://empereur.fr/eshop/fr/

Previous Post
Charlotte, Project Manager at divine [id]
Next Post
Practical guide of the Calanques National Park

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Fill out this field
Fill out this field
Please enter a valid email address.
You need to agree with the terms to proceed

Menu

Maison Empereur

Maison Empereur

Vous êtes ici !
Maison Empereur

Située dans le quartier de Noailles, la Maison Empereur est la plus ancienne quincaillerie de France. Ouverte en 1827, c’est une véritable institution pour les Marseillais depuis bientôt plus de 190 ans. La Maison Empereur n’est peut-être pas la plus ancienne boutique de la ville mais demeure tout de même la plus vieille droguerie générale de France. À l’intérieur, dans les 1 000 m2 que compte l’établissement, ce sont des dizaines de milliers de références qui sont mises à la disposition des curieux. Une véritable caverne d’Ali Baba. On y croise de rudes maçons, des ménagères en quête du produit miracle et on y déniche des objets indispensables, ceux qui peuplent nos souvenirs d’enfance et que l’on croyait à jamais perdus, des objets pour les professionnels, pour les amateurs d’originalité, et pour toutes les bourses.

Laurence Renaux-Empereur est la première femme de la famille à la tête de Maison Empereur, elle est de la 7éme génération dans sa famille depuis 1827.

En 2012 elle crée son propre e-shop. Avec l’aide de Google, elle le développe sans pour autant passer du tout au rien. Aujourd’hui, il y a 1.200 références sur le site de la quincaillerie contre 50.000 en magasin.

Laurence aurait pu faire un musée sur la plus ancienne quincaillerie de France. Elle a préféré une maison d’hôtes emplie de souvenirs. La quincaillerie vous invite depuis 2017 à y poser vos valises pour une nuit ou plus. Plongez dans l’histoire et l’intimité des 7 générations de la Maison Empereur lors d’un séjour en mode Slow Life, sans Wifi, au cœur d’un appartement-musée.

Mais ce n’est pas tout ! En effet, la Maison Empereur a ajouté un nouveau bijou à sa couronne : un joli salon du thé où faire une pause lecture entre les abat-jours et les savons. Situé à l’étage d’une nouvelle aile, comme pour la chambre d’hôte, ce lieu qui semble appartenir à une autre époque est caché. Pour le trouver, il vous faudra jouer la même chasse au trésor que lors de vos achats parmi les innombrables rayonnages.

Pour y accéder, entrez dans le magasin au niveau des articles de cuisine, grimpez  un premier escalier entre les cafetières et les moules à cannelés puis un second, hélicoïdal ! Une fois le salon de thé trouvé, vous y dégusterez le café Luciani (1863), le chocolat chaud de la Torréfaction Noailles (1927) et les tisanes du Père Blaize (1815). Pour accompagner tout cela : des navettes, un cake du jour et des boules de glaces artisanales.

Maison Empereur

Le petit plus : le lieu accueillera des expos d’art et des conférences, la première d’entre elles accueille en toute logique les Compagnons du Tour de France.

Si vous êtes en recherche d’un ancien objet ou d’une nuit dans le temps passé, n’hésitez pas à vous rendre ici :

https://empereur.fr/eshop/fr/

Article précédent
Charlotte, Chef de projet chez divine [id]
Article suivant
Guide pratique du Parc National des Calanques

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Vous devez remplir ce champ
Vous devez remplir ce champ
Veuillez saisir une adresse de messagerie valide.
Vous devez accepter les conditions pour continuer

Menu