Candlemas in Marseille

You are here!

On Candlemas Day, February 2, when all of France is about to overdose on pancakes, in Marseille, tradition has it that after the first mass at the Abbaye Saint Victor, the city’s archbishop, Monseigneur Pontier, blesses the famous “navette”. From dawn, it is the crowd in the bakery of the «Four des Navettes». The faithful want to be the first to buy the orange blossom cakes, whose recipe has remained unchanged since the 18th century.
It is customary to bring home not only a lit candle, but also a «navette».

The history of the «Four des navettes» (136 Rue Sainte – Marseille 7°) : The oldest bakery in Marseille, located on the sacred road leading to the Abbey Saint Victor, it belongs to the Master Baker Jean-Claude Imbert and his son Nicolas. For more than 200 years, the secret of the recipe has been jealously guarded and the three owners of the Four des Navettes since its creation (in 1781) have passed on the exclusive know-how to each other. The vaulted oven, built at the end of the 18th century, is still in operation today and allows the incomparable quality of the “navette” to be obtained. It is exclusively dedicated to them and an element of the cultural heritage.

But, the “navettes” are not only in Saint-Victor. On the other side of the Vieux-Port, at the Panier, the regulars of the neighborhood also have their preference: the “Navettes des Accoules” of the artisan chef José Orsoni. They are just as delicious and are attracting more and more tourists passing through the historic district of Marseille, a short distance from the Vieux-Port.

The 3 legends of the “navettes”
This legendary cookie has been the fantasy of the Provençal people for centuries. But where does its shape come from?
– The first say that its origin is associated with the Candlemas festivities celebrated in the Saint-Victor abbey. Towards the end of the 13th century, a wooden statue of the Virgin would have washed up on the banks of the Vieux-Port. She was wearing a golden crown and a green robe. The people of Marseille saw this as a sign of protection by a Virgin Protectress of Sea People. But well, this legend does not explain the link between this event and the shape of the “navette”.
– The latter often explain that the shuttle symbolizes the boat that brought the Saintes Maries to the coasts of Provence. To recall this story, Mr. Aveyrous, founder of the oven in 1781, would have had the idea of giving the cookie the shape of a tray.
– Finally, the last ones who claim to have the true version, explain that the shape of the “navette” is that of a woman’s sex. And that the cookie celebrates the return of spring and thus of fecundity.

For your events in Marseille, offer your participants the “navette” in individual format. For more details, contact us.

Previous Post
How to support local business in Marseille and its region
Next Post
Marseille, Massilia, Massalia… where does your name come from?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Fill out this field
Fill out this field
Please enter a valid email address.
You need to agree with the terms to proceed

Menu

La Chandeleur à Marseille

Le jour de la Chandeleur, le 2 février alors que toute la France s’apprête à faire une overdose de crêpes, à Marseille, la tradition veut qu’après la première messe à l’Abbaye Saint Victor, l’archevêque de la ville, Monseigneur Pontier, bénisse les célèbres navettes. Dès l’aube, c’est la cohue dans la boulangerie du Four des navettes. Les fidèles veulent être les premiers à acheter les gâteaux à la fleur d’oranger, dont la recette est inchangée depuis le 18ème siècle.
Il est d’usage de rapporter chez soi non seulement un cierge allumé, mais également une « navette ».

L’histoire du Four des navettes (136 Rue Sainte – Marseille 7°) : Plus ancienne boulangerie de Marseille, placée sur la voie sacrée qui mène à l’Abbaye Saint Victor, elle appartient au Maître Artisan Boulanger Jean-Claude Imbert et à son fils Nicolas. Depuis plus de 200 ans, le secret de la recette de la Navette est jalousement gardé et les trois propriétaires du Four des Navettes depuis sa création (en 1781) se sont transmis l’exclusivité du savoir-faire. Le four à voûte, construit à la fin du 18ème siècle fonctionne encore aujourd’hui et permet d’obtenir la qualité incomparable des navettes. Il leur est exclusivement consacré c’est un élément du patrimoine culturel.

Mais, les navettes ne se trouvent pas qu’à Saint-Victor. De l’autre côté du Vieux-Port, au Panier, les habitués du quartier ont aussi leur préférence : Les Navettes des Accoules de l’artisan José Orsoni. Elles sont tout aussi délicieuses et attirent toujours plus de touristes de passage dans le quartier historique de Marseille à quelques encablures du Vieux-Port.

Les 3 légendes des navettes
Ce biscuit légendaire fait fantasmer les provençaux depuis des siècles. Mais d’où nous vient sa forme ?
– Les premiers disent que son origine est associée aux fêtes de la Chandeleur célébrées dans l’Abbaye Saint-Victor. Vers la fin du 13ème siècle, une statue en bois de la Vierge se serait échouée sur les rives du Vieux-Port. Elle portait une couronne d’or et une robe verte. Les Marseillais virent là un signe de protection par une Vierge Protectrice des Gens de mer. Mais cette légende n’explique en rien le lien entre cet événement et la forme de la navette…
– Les seconds expliquent souvent que la navette symbolise la barque qui amena les Saintes Maries sur les côtes de Provence. Pour rappeler cette histoire, Monsieur Aveyrous, fondateur du Four en 1781, aurait eu l’idée de donner à un biscuit la forme d’une barquette.
– Enfin, les derniers qui prétendent détenir la vraie version, expliquent que la forme des navettes est celle du sexe d’une femme. Et que le biscuit célèbre le retour du printemps et donc de la fécondité.

Pour vos événements à Marseille, offrez à vos participants la navette en format individuel. Pour plus de détails, contactez nous.

Article précédent
Marseille et sa région pour soutenir le commerce local

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Vous devez remplir ce champ
Vous devez remplir ce champ
Veuillez saisir une adresse de messagerie valide.
Vous devez accepter les conditions pour continuer

Menu