100 years ago the sculptor Cesar was born.

You are here!

Exactly 100 years ago was born the most famous compressor sculptor in the history of art: César Baldaccini, on January 1, 1921 in Marseille! The trophy of the French cinema, the Thumb of Bonneveine… his work is at the same time austere and jubilant, innovative and playful.

César begins an apprenticeship that leads him to Paris at the “École Nationale Supérieure des Beaux-Arts”. Very early on, he was noticed for his own technique, which brought him fame: it was the soldered irons, human figures and other Venus, as well as the bestiary he invented, populated by insects and animals of all kinds, that led him to his first solo exhibition in 1954. Soon famous, his work was exhibited from London to New York.

César is part of the New Realists, a movement born in 1960 and imposes his trademark. Inventive and guided by the accidental logic of the material, Cesar then engaged in a form of dialectic by developing Expansions according to a principle opposed to that of Compressions.

Compressed metal is followed by polyurethane and other materials that the artist dyes and polishes, applying to them his know-how and a method peculiar to classical sculpture. Cesar never stopped reinventing and questioning himself and was not satisfied with the recognition of some of his gestures, to the point that he questioned his career many times.

Why the Thumb?
It is above all an aesthetic question. Enlarged to monumental dimensions, the other fingers of the hand are less effective artistically. The Thumb has the advantage of having only two phalanges and a better proportion, it is both simpler and more compact. And it has a more beautiful curvature. It is also a symbol of strength and power… A common point with its preferred material, bronze.

This passion for thumbs has pursued the artist more than 30 years. Indeed, César presents for the first time his Thumb enlarged in 1965. An original work of only 40 cm. The one of Marseille is realized in 1988 but installed on his traffic circle only in 1994, after a small world tour. Indeed, the work, made entirely in bronze, measuring 6 meters high and weighing more than 4 tons, was first sent to South Korea to be presented at the Seoul Olympics Park. The Thumb then returned to Marseille where it was exhibited at the Vieille Charité museum in 1993, during a retrospective of César’s work. And it was only in 1994 that it finally took its definitive place at the opening of the MAC, in homage to the contemporary art that the artist was so fond of. There are several copies of the famous Thumb of César, the one at La Défense in Paris is the most imposing with its 12 meters high and its weight of 18 tons.

César died in Paris in 1998 at the age of 77. So during your next stay in Marseille, don’t forget to make a detour to see The Thumb and if you need a guide, contact us!

,
Previous Post
A new hotel concept in Marseille, just like at home
Next Post
How to support local business in Marseille and its region

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Fill out this field
Fill out this field
Please enter a valid email address.
You need to agree with the terms to proceed

Menu

Il y a 100 ans naissait le sculpteur César

Il y a pile 100 ans naissait le compresseur le plus célèbre de l’histoire de l’art : César Baldaccini, le 1er janvier 1921 à Marseille ! Le trophée du cinéma français, le Pouce de Bonneveine… son œuvre est à la fois austère et jubilatoire, novatrice et ludique.

César commence un apprentissage qui le conduit à Paris à l’École nationale supérieure des beaux-arts. Très tôt, il se fait remarquer par une technique qui lui est propre et lui apporte la célébrité : ce sont les Fers soudés, les figures humaines et autres Vénus ainsi que le bestiaire qu’il invente, peuplé d’insectes et d’animaux de toutes sortes qui l’amènent à sa première exposition personnelle en 1954. Bientôt célèbre, son oeuvre est exposée de Londres à New York.

César fait partie des nouveaux réalistes, mouvement né en 1960 et impose sa marque de fabrique. Inventif et guidé par la logique accidentelle du matériau, César s’engage ensuite dans une forme de dialectique en développant des Expansions selon un principe opposé à celui des Compressions.

Au métal compressé succèdent le polyuréthane et autres matériaux que l’artiste teinte et polit, leur appliquant son savoir-faire et une méthode propre à la sculpture classique. César n’a cessé de se réinventer comme de se remettre en question et ne se satisfaisait pas de la reconnaissance de certains de ses gestes, au point qu’il remit maintes fois son parcours en question.

Pourquoi le Pouce ?
C’est surtout une question esthétique. Agrandis aux dimensions monumentales les autres doigts de la main sont moins efficaces sur le plan artistique. Le Pouce a l’avantage de ne comporter que deux phalanges et d’avoir une meilleur proportion, il est à la fois plus simple et plus compact. Et puis, il possède une plus belle courbure. Il est aussi symbole de force et de puissance… Un point commun avec son matériau de prédilection, le bronze.

Cette passion pour les pouces poursuit l’artiste plus de 30 ans. En effet, César présente pour la première fois son Pouce agrandi en 1965. Une oeuvre originale de seulement 40 cm. Celui de Marseille est réalisé en 1988 mais installé sur son rond-point seulement en 1994, après un petit tour de monde. En effet, l’oeuvre réalisée tout en bronze, mesurant 6 mètres de haut et pesant plus de 4 tonnes, est d’abord envoyée en Corée du Sud pour être présentée au Parc des Olympiades de Séoul. Le Pouce revient ensuite à Marseille où il est ensuite exposé à la Vieille Charité, en 1993, lors d’une rétrospective de l’oeuvre de César. Et ce n’est qu’en 1994, qu’il prend enfin sa place définitive lors de l’ouverture du MAC, en hommage à l’art contemporain que l’artiste affectionnait tant. Il existe plusieurs exemplaires du célèbre Pouce de César, celui de La Défense à Paris, est le plus imposant avec ses 12 mètres de haut et son poids de 18 tonnes.

César s’éteint à Paris en 1998, à l’âge de 77 ans. Lors de votre prochain séjour à Marseille, n’oubliez pas de faire un détour pour voir le Pouce et si vous avez besoin d’un guide, contactez-nous.

,
Article précédent
Un nouveau concept hôtelier à Marseille, comme à la maison
Article suivant
Marseille et sa région pour soutenir le commerce local

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse e-mail ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Vous devez remplir ce champ
Vous devez remplir ce champ
Veuillez saisir une adresse e-mail valide.
Vous devez accepter les conditions pour continuer

Menu